Adventures of the Non-Creative Mom

December 17, 2012

Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Filed under: Recipes — by dsuzuki @ 11:10 pm
Tags: ,

My family absolutely loves these muffins and that includes my extended family.  During my brother’s family’s last visit from Southern California my nephew asked if I could make these muffins.  I told him I didn’t have enough ripe bananas and he actually got his mom to drive to Target to pick up bananas so I could make some muffins. LOL.  The original recipe is from the Hawaii Soto Mission Cook Book andI added some of the variations I’ve tried at the bottom of the post.

Chocolate chip banana muffins

Ingredients:

  • 2 cup mashed, ripe bananas (you want them really ripe for that added sweetness)
  • 2 cups flour, sifted
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup Wesson oil (I normally use just 1/2 cup and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 2 tsp vanilla

Directions:

  1. Mash bananas and set aside
  2. Sift flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt into a large bowl
  3. Add sugar, oil and eggs; beat until blended
  4. Add bananas, chocolate chips and vanilla; mix well
  5. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour (note this is for bread loaves. I normally do muffins in cupcake tins and bake for 17-18 minutes)

Variations:

I’ve been trying to get my kids to eat somewhat healthier food options and it has not been easy.  I have found that I can substitute 1/2 cup of flour for whole wheat flour and it tastes fine.  I also toss in a tbsp of flax without a problem.  If your bananas are ripe enough I’ve also found you can reduce the amount of sugar you use.  I noted above that I never use the full cup of oil and instead add 1/2 cup of applesauce.  I’ve tried lessening the oil even more and found they really stick to the pan so be sure to use liners if you try that.

I will often make a double or triple batch and freeze some of the muffins.  Just take them out a day or two before you want to eat them and then warm them either in a microwave or toaster.  I sometimes also make some mini-muffins which my kids love!

1 Comment »

  1. These sound absolutely delicious!! We actually ate the last mini banana muffin last night (ok, I ate it) so I’m all set to make a new batch. Our bananas have been browning very quickly for some reason so I always seem to have a stash in the freezer for use.

    Comment by Trish — December 18, 2012 @ 7:40 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Toni Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

