Adventures of the Non-Creative Mom

September 17, 2011

DIY Stamps

Filed under: Arts and Crafts,DIY — by dsuzuki @ 10:30 pm

My daughter has been begging for stamps but they are so expensive and her tastes are always changing I hate the idea of spending so much money on stamps she might not use for long.  Then I found this idea on Pinterest for making your own stamps using foam stickers.  Duh!  Genius idea.  So when my daughter passed out after a long morning at the carnival I used some of the foam stickers that I picked up on clearance awhile back and some of these awesome blocks that a friend made for her and voila, DIY stamps.

Can you believe in the entire container of stickers there wasn’t a single “2”?  No wonder it was on clearance 🙂  After she started using them I had a palm to forehead moment.  Can you guess what stupid mistake I made?  The letters have to be put backwards on the block in order to appear correctly when you stamp them!  Ugh.  I peeled them off and glued them back on and then they worked fine.  My daughter was so sweet and told me “That’s ok mommy, I like them backwards.”

I also used some bottle caps from our recycling bin to put some smaller oval, star, etc stickers on so she could add some designs to her letters and numbers.  We tried both paint and stamp pads and the stamp pads worked much better.  She had a tendency to push too hard in the paint and then got a blob on the paper.

Still she had a ton of fun and I was able to make these with things we already had around the house.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

