Adventures of the Non-Creative Mom

September 17, 2011

World’s Best Bubble Recipe

Filed under: DIY,Outdoor Activities — by dsuzuki @ 10:44 pm

I hope my daughter isn’t the only one who never fails to accidentally tip over a bottle of brand new bubbles and next thing you know half the bottle is gone.  She was going through her bubbles like crazy and then it only got worse when we bought her a lawn mower toy that blew bubbles.  That thing went through a bottle of bubbles in two days.  It doesn’t help that if you tip it backwards the bubble liquid leaks out.  My 1 yr old kept trying to use it as a walker so we lost a lot of bubbles that way too.

When my son’s first birthday rolled around I decided to make my own bubble containers for the kids to use at the party and I found this great recipe on Pinterest, of course, and it was amazing.  It works so much better than the store bought bubbles, takes like 5 minutes to make and we had all the ingredients already.

1 1/2 quarts of water

1/2 cup light corn syrup

1 cup liquid dish soap

Mix water and corn syrup until completely blended. Slowly stir in soap. Will last several weeks in an airtight container.

My daughter drinks those Nesquik chocolate milk single serving size bottles sometimes so I saved a couple, removed the wrappers and poured the bubble solution into those containers.  We had some left over wands from other bubble containers that I saved so she just uses those.  I love it.  It makes me not cringe as badly when she spills it and if we run out I can whip up another batch instead of trying to figure out a time to make it to a store to buy more.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

