Adventures of the Non-Creative Mom

October 8, 2011

DIY Hair Clips

Filed under: DIY — by dsuzuki @ 10:49 pm

I finally got off my butt and decided to try making some hair clips for my daughter after the kids were in bed.  It went surprisingly well.  Not perfect but not as bad as I was expecting.  I had picked up some fall ribbon from the dollar spot at Target and found this post on Pinterest on how to curl fabric ribbon.  It actually worked!  All you had to do was wrap the ribbon around wooden dowels and secure the ribbon with wooden clothes pins, preheat your oven to 275 degrees,lay ribbon wrapped dowels on a foil lined baking sheet and bake ribbon for 25 minutes.  Remove from oven and cool completely.

I cut them in half and layered them on top of each other and used a couple stitches to hold them together.

The center looked a little bare so I used this ribbon tying technique found on Pinterest that uses a fork (strange I know but it worked too) to make a bow.  I had to modify it slightly to make the bow larger so it didn’t turn out quite as nice as when you tighten the bow on the fork but not as bad as my usually ribbon tying attempts.  Then I hot glued it to a hair clip I picked up using some UP rewards from Rite Aid that were expiring today.

and voila…Not perfect but I thought it was kind of cute for my first attempt.  I trimmed some of the ribbon edges and am going to have my daughter try it on tomorrow before I make the other side.

1 Comment »

  1. Oven!? Who would have thought! They’re adorable.

    Comment by Trish — April 30, 2012 @ 1:42 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

