Adventures of the Non-Creative Mom

October 17, 2011

TV Night in Style-Making Lightning McQueen Out of a Box

Filed under: Arts and Crafts — by dsuzuki @ 8:50 pm

I’ve been wanting to make a car for Kaitlyn for awhile now and finally got motivated after seeing one at a friend’s house and then a Lightning McQueen one on Pinterest.  The one on Pinterest was sprayed painted and all spiffied up but I couldn’t get motivated enough to do that much.  So I opted for using some construction paper I got on clearance at Target.

I started off with this box left over from my son’s birthday gift and making a few cut outs.

Then I covered it up with construction paper.

I used some formula and Gerber snack tops to trace out the wheels since I can’t draw a circle to save my life.

Finally made the headlights, mouth and eyes.

I surprised Kaitlyn with it that night and she hopped right in.  It was a little too high for her to see out so she tossed a pillow in to sit on and it was perfect. And yes I was too lazy to finish off the bottom.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

