Adventures of the Non-Creative Mom

October 18, 2011

Rhyming Dust Bunnies Flash Cards

Filed under: Books,Reading/Vocabulary — by dsuzuki @ 9:54 pm

Rhyming Dust Bunnies by Jan Thomas was a huge hit with both my daughter and myself (you can see some of our thoughts on it here) and now that she is really getting the hang of sounding words out I thought it might be fun to create some dust bunny flash cards.  I downloaded a PDF of images of the dust bunnies from Jan Thomas’ site and used Photoshop to pull them out into individual files.  I printed out a few copies of each dust bunny and wrote a rhyming word on each one and then laminated them.

I made it like a card game in which she picked one and sounded out the word and then had to find a dust bunny who was saying a rhyming word.

She had a lot of fun and I was a little surprised how well she could sound out some of the words.  She stumbled on “tar” since she didn’t really know what tar was but otherwise she was able to figure out all of the other words.

I am glad I laminated the cards because as expected my son also had to get into the mix and started flipping through the book and chewing on the cards.

If you haven’t checked out this book I highly suggest you do!

1 Comment »


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

