Adventures of the Non-Creative Mom

November 15, 2011

November is Picture Book Month-Our Picks

November is Picture Book Month so I just wanted to mention some of the recent favorite books of my 4 year old daughter.  I also have some links of some picture book activities we have done so far at the bottom of the post.

Kaitlyn’s Favorites:

Jan Thomas

I couldn’t pick just one because she has really enjoyed the three books I’ve already brought home for her.  My 16 month really enjoys them as well as he likes looking at the pictures and watching my daughter and I act out parts of the book.  The ones we have read and love so far are:

 

From Beach Lane Books

Another author favorite is Mo Willems. We read a Mo Willems book at least every other day and usually more often.  Even my 16 month old gets into it and cracks everyone up because he just loves saying “aaachooo!” after reading Pigs Make Me Sneeze so often.  Our favorite Piggie & Gerald books are:

 

From Hyperion Book CH

Our latest finds are the Eileen Christelow Five Little Monkey Books.  I picked up Five Little Monkeys Reading in Bed at the latest NCIBA conference and it was so cute.  My daughter loves it and I have to admit I may even enjoy reading it a tad more than she does.  She immediately wanted to read more about the monkeys and I had to do enter a slew of library book requests for more of them.  Another fun one that is perfect for helping with counting is Five Little Monkeys Go Shopping.  This book has us laughing out loud and we had to read it several times in a row.

From Clarion Books

Past favorites have been:

We’re Going on a Bear Hunt by Michael Rosen & Helen Oxenbury from Little Simon

Check out our activity for We’re Going on a Bear Hunt

 

Not a Box by Antoinette Portis from Harper Collins.

Because we all know how much kids love cardboard boxes.

 

Go Away, Big Green Monster! by Ed Emberley from Little, Brown and Company.

Helping kids overcome their fear of monsters.  Activity posted here.

 

Press Here by Herve Tullet from Chronicle Books

Press Here Activity

Other Book Related Activities:

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

