Adventures of the Non-Creative Mom

January 30, 2012

Interesting Looking Not So New Children’s Books

Filed under: Books — by dsuzuki @ 10:40 pm

I went away for the first time for a girl’s weekend away leaving my two kids home with my parents and my husband.  I have to admit it was strange being away from them for two days and a night but it was a lot of fun.  They were always there in the back of my mind though and as we explored the wonderful little stores in downtown historic Sonoma I found the most interesting looking books that I really want to pick up for my four year old.  Have you read any of these?  What did you think?

This is the Way We Go to School by Edith Baer

Summary from Goodreads.com: Some children walk to school; others ride a bus. Children go by ferry in New York, vaporetto in Italy, trolley car in San Francisco, and helicopter in the Alaskan Tundra. With fun-filled rhymes and colorful illustrations, children will discover just how much fun getting to school can be.

Somewhere in the World Right Now by Stacey Schuett

Since my daughter has been on her space/solar system kick she has found it fascinating that while it’s night time here it is actually day time on the other side of the world and vice versa.  So when I browsed through this book I immediately wanted to get it to read to my daughter.  It talks about all the different things children around the world are doing at the same moment whether it be getting ready for bed or getting ready to go to school.

On the Same Day In March: A Tour of the World’s Weather by Marilyn Singer

This was another book I thought my daughter would enjoy as it will surprise her that on the same day it could be cold and snowy somewhere and warm and sunny somewhere else.

Let’s Do Nothing by Tony Fucile

Summary from Goodreads.com: Frankie and Sal have already played every sport and board game invented, baked and eaten batches of cookies, and painted a zillion pictures. What’s left to do? Nothing! Ten seconds of nothing! Can they do it? Can they act like stone statues in the park? Can they simply hold their breath and not blink an eye? With a wink to the reader and a command of visual humor, feature film animator Tony Fucile demonstrates the Zen-like art of doing nothing…oops! Couldn’t do it!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

