Adventures of the Non-Creative Mom

February 9, 2012

Skippyjon Jones Color Crazy by Judy Schachner

Filed under: Books — by dsuzuki @ 11:09 pm
Tags: , , ,

So I have an embarrassing confession to make that exhibits just how clueless and un-observant I can be at times.  Until we received a short book along with our Scholastic book order about Skippyjon Jones and what he can be by reading books I had no clue what these books were about.  A friend who works at Keplers mentioned Judy Schachner was coming to do story time awhile back and I figured “eh, never heard of her.”   Then about a month ago it was bedtime, we had rest our usual three books and my daughter was begging for just one more book.  She brought this one to me  and while I was curious about what this Skippyjon Jones craze was all about I just wanted to put her to bed and go rest myself.

I figured it was short enough so why not read it to her.  So here’s the embarrassing part…I was so tired and rushing to get through it that I took the first sentence “I’m Skippyjon Jones a Chihuahua to my bones!” quite literally and assumed he was a dog.  It wasn’t until we read another Skippyjon Jones book that I realized he was actually a CAT!  My husband laughed at me but come on…those big ears…the mask and he called himself a chihuahua for goodness sake.  Yes, I know still how unobservant can I be?

Ok, but now back to Skippyjon Jones Color Crazy.  My four year old is in love with these books so I had to request all the books my library system had because she kept begging for them.  This one quickly became one of her favorites.  It is about Skippyjon Jones drawing all sorts of things but with his own unique take on their colors.  He colors a pink sky, yellow grass, purple water, etc.  My daughter found this so silly she could not stop laughing and we would talk about what color should the sky really be or how would she like it if the sky were to be pink.  It’s made for a lot of fun bedtime discussions and I have to admit for some interesting pictures in the days following.  She even questions why in one of her games they only let her choose green to color the trees.  She was so put out that she could not color them purple. LOL.

This is definitely a book to check out for those Skippyjon Jones fans and for those kids who like to use their imagination to see the world in new ways.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

