Adventures of the Non-Creative Mom

February 27, 2012

“Stained Glass” Window

My brother and sister-in-law gave my 4 year old these clear chips off of our wish list at Discount School Supplies and we have been playing with them on a light table and just a white plastic cover.  Since I had to lay down some new contact paper in our kitchen cabinets I thought why not use the left over for a craft for the kiddos.  Just as a warning for those with younger ones my 19 month old got the most pleasure out of taking the can I stored the chips in and over turning it every chance he got.  My four year old on the other hand loved it and I was surprised how meticulous she was about finding just the right pieces she wanted to use.

Here is her work in progress up close.  Those are just popsicle sticks I washed and let dry because she really seems to like just gluing the sticks together to make odd shapes.  I used the sticks to create a “frame” and then let her go at it making her own design.  She really liked the little circle pieces and dug through the entire can looking for them.  She also liked the “teeth” pieces as she called one of the shapes. Can you tell which one she was talking about? 🙂

Once she was done laying down the pieces I put down a second piece of contact paper over it to keep everything together.

We had some random colored shoe laces that were never used so I tape them onto her “window” so we could hang it up.

This activity pretty much kept her busy until bed time and she already told me she wants to do another one because she “already has a picture in her mind” of what she wants to do.

1 Comment »

  1. I love it! Has she seen it in the sunlight yet?

    Comment by Jenn — February 28, 2012 @ 4:44 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

