Adventures of the Non-Creative Mom

March 3, 2012

Bubble Wrap Painting & A Color of My Own by Leo Lionni

Last week a couple of my friends and I had a book swap/borrow play date in which we brought books our kids were either done with or wanted to share with their friends.  One of the books my daughter borrowed was A color of his own by Leo Lionni.  It’s about how all the other animals have their own color like pigs are pink and elephants are gray but the chameleon doesn’t have a color of his own.  Instead he becomes the color of whatever item he is near.  We read it today and both my four year old and 19 month old really enjoyed it and in fact even after we were done my 19 month old kept picking it up to go through the pages.  I enjoyed it because the art work was cute and reminded me of Eric Carle books and I am still working with my 19 month old on learning his colors.  The only down side is some of the illustrations colors didn’t match the words.  Like one animal was supposed to be red and both my kids said orange and honestly it did look orange to me.  Same was true about a few other colors so hopefully it won’t confuse my son.

Since we were working on colors and my kids love art work when I discovered a bag full of bubble wrap while cleaning out a cabinet I decided why not let them try jumping on it.  We had done that a couple weeks ago with the wrap with larger bubbles and they had a blast popping it all.  These were tinier bubbles and definitely didn’t have as satisfying a pop so for plan B I laid a piece out on their table and taped it down.  I usually use paper plates to put the paints out but since I was cleaning out our stash of plastic bags and planned on recycling a whole bunch I figured why not use those as a paint palette instead.  As I poured out each color I had my son call out the name of each color so we could get in some color practice.

Then as you can see they went at it painting the bubble wrap and had a blast.  Once they were done painting a section I gave them a piece of construction paper to press down on their painting and see what kind of art work it created.  Here is my daughter with one of her finished pieces.

My daughter’s colors started blending together as her brush got all the paint colors mixed up so I got a bowl of water for them to rinse their brushes in.  Of course then my son had more fun splashes around in the water bowl.

My daughter just enjoyed painting, painting and more painting until her side of the table was entirely covered.

All in all a fun activity for the kids, it kept them occupied for awhile and I got to get in a little color practice for my son and it didn’t cost me anything extra since I hadn’t even realized we had this bubble wrap saved from some package delivery.

1 Comment »

  1. It won’t confuse your son in the long run. I have a book that ends with the word “ketchup” and the illustrations shows mustard on the hot dog. Just mention that sometimes book publishers make mistakes with colors. 🙂

    Comment by Pussreboots — March 5, 2012 @ 12:02 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

