Adventures of the Non-Creative Mom

April 15, 2012

Pinkalicious Fairies

Filed under: Arts and Crafts,Books — by dsuzuki @ 12:05 am
Tags: , ,

A friend of mine was throwing a Pinkalicious birthday party for her daughter the other week and to  get my daughter into the mood I decided to make her a pinkalicious fairy crown (don’t dare call it a princess crown because my four year old will immediately say she does not like princesses mommy!).

I had a bunch of ribbons and stuff from a Party City clearance sale I picked up awhile back after my daughter had seen some crowns at a street fair and was begging for one.  I wasn’t about to pay I believe it was $15 dollars for something I felt I could make at home myself.  So I gave it a whirl and she loved it.  Her smile when I took the picture cracked me up.

Pinkalicious crown

I basically took some of a silver party wire decoration (sorry don’t know what it’s called) that was covered in silver & had stars covering it and shaped in a circle that fit my daughter’s head.  Then I took 3 or 4 different shades of pink ribbon and tied them around the section where I had twisted the wire closed so she wouldn’t get poked by the edges.  I tossed in a few strands of white ribbon as well to add a little contrast.  Curled it with a pair of scissors and voila!  Cost me a couple dollars to make and she was happy & has been wearing it every day since.

Of course my 21 month old got jealous and kept trying to steal her crown so I had to make one for him as well.  Luckily I also had some blue ribbons so I made one for my son as well.

Blue prince crown

Once my daughter saw his crown she wanted some blue added to hers and not wanting to be sexist I added them for her.

A touch of blue

And the two kiddos together.

Two fairies

It really turned out to be easier than I expected and am so glad I didn’t pay for that one at the street fair.  I would have liked to add maybe some tulle but didn’t have any and seemed silly to go out and buy some just for this.  Still, love my two little fairies.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

