Adventures of the Non-Creative Mom

June 2, 2012

A Baseball Story by Richard Torrey

Filed under: Books — by dsuzuki @ 10:18 pm
Tags: , ,

A Baseball Story by Richard Torrey

I tend to think I have an open mind about books and try not to stereotype them but I realized tonight that although I’ve had this book sitting on my desk since I bought my Usborne Books kit but never read it to my daughter.  I saw “baseball” and I guess I categorized it as a “boy book” but when she asked me if I had any new books to read tonight I decided why not read it to her?  At least give it a try and what do you know?  She loved it!  We read it twice and she asked for it again but I had to put my foot down that twice was enough for now but she still kept talking about it while we chatted before bed time.

The story follows a young boy who has his first baseball game that day.  The illustrations are cute and have a lot of little things going on in the background that you can discuss or have fun with.  We liked that one of the other players is preoccupied the entire book pretending to be an airplane instead of playing the game and there are silly scenes like the main character being so busy smelling his new baseball glove he doesn’t watch where he’s walking.

My daughter couldn’t stop giggling as we read and looked at each page.  And yes, there are girls on the baseball team as well but really even if there weren’t I think this is a book that both boys and girls would enjoy.

Purchase a copy

(I do make a small commission if you buy through my store)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

